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What is ADAP?

Alcohol Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) O.C.G.A. §20-2-142(b)

• Alcohol and drug course established by the Georgia Department of Education and Georgia 
Department of Driver Services for the purpose of informing teens of the dangers involved in 
consuming alcohol or certain drugs in connection with operating a motor vehicle  

• In Georgia, teens under the age of 18 are required by law to show proof that they have 
completed ADAP in order to obtain their Class D driver’s license

Parent ADAP  O.C.G.A. §20-2-142(b)(2)(B)

• A separate voluntary component for parental or guardian instruction that provides drug 
prevention strategies, legal accountability information, an opportunity for questions, and other 
information on protecting their children from alcohol and drug use

• Parents who complete the online Parent ADAP course may receive a free 3 year non-certified 
MVR through the DDS Online Services portal

eADAP O.C.G.A §20-2-142(b)(4)

• The alcohol and drug course offered electronically online

• Designed for those teens unable to take the traditional (classroom) ADAP course through their 
high school



Rules & Regulations 
375-5-4-.07  Testing

A student must attend 
all sessions of the 

course to take the exam

A student may retest 
with a subsequent class 

if necessary

Only 2 retests without 
further instruction are 

allowed

Oral tests are given at 
the discretion of the 
instructor or school 

principal

Each student must pass 
with a score of 70 or 

higher to obtain a 
Certificate of 
Completion



O.C.G.A. §40-5-22(a) requires that any person under 18 years of 
age complete the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) 
in order to obtain a Georgia driver’s license.
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Chapter 1 
TADRA



• Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act 
(TADRA) is a Graduated Driver’s Licensing 
process for newly licensed drivers 15 to 18 
years of age.  

• TADRA contains important provisions 
specifically related to driving under the 
influence (DUI) prevention /enforcement 
and school conduct/attendance 
requirements.

• Following enactment of TADRA in 1997;

 Fatal crash rate (16 years of age) - 36.8% 
decline

 Speed related crashes (16 years of age) -
42% decline

 Alcohol related crashes (16 years of 
age) - 60% decline

(National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, March 3, 2006)



Georgia’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Process



STEP ONE:  The Instructional Permit (Class CP)

• Granted to persons at least 15 years of age 
upon passing a written examination

• Instructional Permit (Class CP) holders may 
operate any Class C vehicle: 

 When accompanied by a person at least 21 
years of age who is licensed to drive a Class C 
vehicle 

 Who is fit and capable of exercising control 
over the vehicle

 Who is occupying a seat beside the driver

Georgia’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Process



Georgia’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Process

STEP TWO:  The Provisional License (Class D)

• Granted to persons between 16 and 17 years 
of age that meet the following requirements:

 Held an Instructional Permit (Class CP) for 1 
year and one day

 No major traffic violations that resulted in the 
mandatory suspension of their permit

 Completed the Alcohol & Drug Awareness 
Program (ADAP)

 Passed a behind-the-wheel skills’ test

• Teens that do not complete the driver 
education requirement are not eligible to 
obtain a Provisional License (Class D) until 17 
years of age



Class D holders may 
not drive between 
the hours of 12:00 
midnight and 5:00 

a.m., without 
exception.

During the second 6 
months following 
issuance, only 1 

passenger under 21 
years of age who is 
not an immediate 

family member may 
ride in the vehicle 

being driven by the 
Class D holder.

During the first 6 
months following 
issuance, only the 
immediate family 

members may ride 
in the vehicle being 
driven by the Class 

D holder.

After the first and 
second 6-month 
periods, only 3 

passengers under 21 
years of age who are 
not immediate family 
members may ride in 

the vehicle being 
driven by the Class D 

holder.

Georgia’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Process

Restrictions of a Provisional License (Class D)



STEP THREE:  The Class C License

Provisional License (Class D) holders may apply for a Class C Georgia driver’s 
license upon reaching 18 years of age; provided, however, they have held a 
valid Provisional License (Class D) which is not under suspension and have not 
been convicted of any major traffic violations during the 12 months preceding 
application.

Georgia’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Process



TADRA Suspensions (non-DUI)

• The State of Georgia applies strict penalties to teens who fail to obey the laws 

regarding the operation of a motor vehicle. 

• The driver’s license of any person under 21 years of age convicted of any of 

the following offenses shall be suspended for a period of 6 months for a first 

conviction, or for a period of 12 months for a second or subsequent 

suspension:

 Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident

 Racing on highways or streets

 Reckless driving 

 Aggressive driving

 Using a motor vehicle to flee or attempt to elude a police officer



• Underage possession of alcohol while 
operating a motor vehicle

• Any other offense for which 4 or more 
points are assessed against the 
driver’s license

• The accumulation of 4 or more points 
against the driver’s license in any 12-
month period while under 18 years of 
age



First Suspension

• If your BAC was .02 
or greater but less 
than .08, your 
license will be 
suspended for a 
minimum period of 6 
months. 

• If your BAC was .08 
or greater or you 
refused implied 
consent testing, your 
license will be 
suspended for a 
minimum period of 
12 months.  

Second Suspension

• Your license will be 
suspended for a 
minimum period of 18 
months.  

• During the final 12 
months, you will be 
eligible to have a 
certified and 
functioning ignition 
interlock device.

Third Suspension

• You will be declared a 
habitual violator and 
your driver’s license 
will be revoked for a 
period of 5 years.  

• You will also be 
subject to the 12-
month ignition 
interlock 
requirements once 
you become re-
eligible for driving 
privileges. 

TADRA Suspensions (DUI)

In Georgia, persons under 21 years of age are presumed to be DUI if they are 
operating a motor vehicle and their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .02 or 
greater.



TADRA School Attendance and Conduct Requirements

• Teen drivers under the age of 18 will no longer be denied a learner’s permit or 
driver’s license because of excessive absences, dropping out of school, or school 
misconduct.  However, they will continue to have to prove they are ENROLLED in 
school with presentation of a Certificate of Enrollment (DS-3) 

• Teen drivers under the age of 18 will no longer have their learner’s permit or 
driver’s license suspended for excessive absences, dropping out of school, or 
school misconduct.

• School suspensions imposed prior to July 1, 2015 will remain in effect until they 
expire or are reinstated.

• Certificate of Attendance (DS-1) has been updated and combined with the 
Certificate of Eligibility for Restoration of Driving Privileges Following School 
Suspension (DS-3).  It is now named the Certificate of School Enrollment.

• If notice is received of one of the previously listed infractions and you have not yet 
applied for a Georgia driver’s license or permit, you will be prohibited from 
obtaining a driver’s license or permit until the period of suspension has ended. 



• Georgia’s Implied Consent law 
requires you to submit to state-
administered chemical tests of 
your blood, breath, urine, or 
other bodily substances for the 
purpose of determining if you 
are under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs.  

• Your refusal to submit to the 
required testing may be 
offered as evidence against you 
in a court of law. 

Georgia’s Implied Consent Law



Chapter 2
Traffic Laws 

and Safe 
Driving



Each occupant of the front seat of a 
passenger vehicle must be restrained 
by a seat safety belt approved under 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standard 208. 

“Passenger vehicle” means every 
motor vehicle, including, but not 

limited to, pickup trucks, vans, and 
sport utility vehicles designed to 
carry 10 passengers or fewer and 

used for the transportation of 
persons.

Safety belts are to be the most 
effective occupant protection in all 

types of vehicle crashes. 

When used correctly, safety belts are 
effective at helping reduce the risk of 
death or serious injury:

Helps you keep control of the vehicle.

•Helps keep your head from striking the dash 
or windshield. 

•Helps keep people in the vehicle from 
hitting each other.

•Helps spread the crash force across the 
stronger parts of the body. 

•Helps keep you from being ejected from the 
vehicle.

Safety Belts



Safety Restraints for Children 

• Every driver transporting a child who is under 8 years of age, with the exception of a taxicab or 
public transit vehicle, must properly restrain the child in a child passenger restraining system 
appropriate for the child’s height and weight. 

• Children under 8 years of age must be properly secured in an approved car seat or booster seat 
while riding in passenger automobiles, vans, and pickup trucks.  
– Infants under the age of 1 year or up to 20 pounds should be restrained in a properly installed rear-facing infant seat
– toddlers up to 4 years or 40 pounds can be seated in a forward-facing car seat
– children ages 4-8 between 40 and 80 pounds should be in a booster seat

(www.safeamericadrivers.org)

• The car seat or booster seat must be in the rear seat and be appropriate for the child’s weight and 

height.



Steering

Good posture allows a better view of hazards and more 
control of the vehicle.  

Some car manufacturers recommend placing your left hand 
at the 8 o’clock position (instead of 9 o’clock) and your right 
hand at the 4 o’clock position (instead of 3 o’clock) on the 

steering wheel.  

Always keep both hands on the wheel unless you are safely 
performing another driving-related task, such as activating 

your turn signal.



Vision can be severely limited at night; young drivers may 
find it difficult to determine size, speed, color, and distance 

of objects.

Using a light inside the car will also greatly reduce your 
night vision. 

You can reduce the potential of accidents by slowing down 
and increasing following distance.

Driving after Sunset



Speed

Speeding is one of the 
most prevalent factors 
contributing to traffic 

crashes. 

Speeding reduces a 
driver’s ability to steer 
safely around curves or 
objects in the roadway, 

extends the distance 
necessary to stop a 

vehicle, and increases the 
distance a vehicle travels 
while a driver reacts to a 

dangerous situation.  

Always know your speed 
and the speed limit.



Distracted Driving

• According to a 2014 report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA), 32,719 people were killed on U.S. roadways in 2013.  An estimated 424,000 
people were injured in distracted driving crashes.

• Common distractions include talking on a cell phone, texting, adjusting the stereo 
system, and/or the presence of passengers.  

• Any driver under age 18 who holds a Class D license or a learner’s permit is prohibited 
from using any wireless device while driving.

• Any driver age 18 or over with a Class C license is prohibited from reading, writing, or 
sending a text message while driving.



Distracted Driving



Space Management

• Rear-end collisions are often caused by following another vehicle too closely.  

• Maintain at least 3-second space margin between your vehicle and the vehicle in 
front of you.

• Remember that while driving at night, during inclement weather, or when 
hazardous road conditions are present, the distance between your vehicle and the 
vehicle in front of you should be even greater.  

• When stopping behind another vehicle, stop in a position that allows you to see 
the back tires of the car in front you.  



Chapter 3
Alcohol and 

Drug 
Awareness



Alcohol

• Alcohol is one of the most widely used 
drugs in the world.

• Among youth, the use of alcohol and other 
drugs has been linked to unintentional 
injuries, physical fights, academic and 
occupational problems, and illegal behavior.  

• Long-term alcohol misuse is associated with 
liver disease, cancer, cardiovascular disease, 
neurological damage, and psychiatric 
problems (i.e. depression, anxiety, and 
antisocial personality disorder).

• Excessive alcohol consumption is associated 
with approximately 75,000 deaths per year 
and is a contributing factor in approximately 
41% of all deaths from motor vehicle 
crashes.

• Underage drinking is defined as 
consuming alcohol prior to the 
minimum legal drinking age of 21 years. 

• In 2013, the number(368) of fatally 
injured 16-20 year-old passenger 
vehicle drivers with BACs at or above 
0.08 percent declined from that 
reported in 2012(436). (iihs.org)

• Zero tolerance laws in all states make it 
illegal for youth under 21 years of age 
to drive with a BAC of .02 or greater. 



Blood Alcohol 
Concentration (BAC)

Typical Physiological Effects
Predictable Effects on 

Driving Ability

.02%

 Some loss of judgment
 Relaxation
 Slight body warmth
 Altered mood

 Decline in visual function
 Decline in ability to perform two tasks 

simultaneously

.05%

 Exaggerated behavior
 Loss of small-muscle control 
 Impaired judgment
 Usually good feeling
 Lowered alertness
 Release of inhibition

 Reduced coordination
 Reduced ability to track moving objects
 Difficulty steering
 Reduced response to emergency driving situations

.08%

 Muscle coordination becomes poor (e.g., 
balance, speech, vision, reaction time, 
and hearing)

 Harder to detect danger
 Judgment, self-control, reasoning, and 

memory are impaired

 Reduced ability to concentrate
 Short-term memory loss
 Reduced ability to process information (e.g., signal 

detection, visual search)
 Impaired perception

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, the American Medical Association, the National Commission Against Drunk Driving, and 
WebMD.

Effects of BAC



According to the CDC, marijuana use 
among high school students increased 

from 21% in 2009 to 23% in 2011 to 40.7% 
in 2013. In Georgia in 2013,

20.3 % of high school students admit to 
current use.

Marijuana continues to be the most 
commonly used illicit drug of this age 

group.

Its physiological effects are similar to 
those associated with alcohol.

Marijuana smoke deposits four times 
more tar in the lungs and contains up to 

70% more cancer-causing substances than 
does tobacco smoke. 

Marijuana



According to the CDC, Cocaine use among high school 
students in the U.S. increased from 3% in 2011 to 

5.5% in 2013 .  7.0% of Georgia teens admit to 
current use.

Cocaine is a highly addictive substance.

The physiological effects causes hallucinations, 
paranoia, aggression, insomnia, depression, and in 
some instances seizures, heart attack, respiratory 

failure, and even death.

Cocaine



According to the CDC, use of ecstasy 
among high school students 

increased from 7% to 8% in 2011. In 
2013, the use declined to 6.6 %.  

7.1% of Georgia teens admit to use.

Ecstasy can interfere with the body's 
ability to regulate its temperature, 

which can cause dangerous 
overheating (hyperthermia).  

This can lead to serious heart, 
kidney or liver problems, and even 

death.

Ecstasy



Hallucinogenic drug use among high school students 
increased from 2007 (8%) to 2011 (9%). According to 

the CDC, teen use was reported at 7.1% in 2013.

Hallucinogens change the way the brain interprets 
time, reality, and its environment which may result 

in the user hearing voices, seeing images, and 
feeling things that do not exist.

The use of hallucinogens leads to increased heart 
rate and blood pressure and can also cause heart 

and lung failure.  

Hallucinogenic Drugs



Heroin enters the brain very quickly, 
making it highly addictive. The CDC 

reports that in 2013 , 2.2 % of teens in 
the U.S. admit to use which is a 

decline in use from 2.9% reported in 
2011. 

It slows the thought process, reaction 
time, and memory, thereby affecting 

the way the user acts and makes 
decisions.  

Chronic users may develop collapsed 
veins, infection of the heart lining and 

valves, abscesses, liver or kidney 
disease, and pulmonary 

complications.

Street heroin often contains toxic 
contaminants or additives that can 
cause permanent damage to vital 

organs.

Heroin



Inhalants are 
substances or fumes 
from products such 

as glue or paint 
thinner that are 

sniffed, or “huffed”, 
to cause an 

immediate high.

Inhalant use among 
high school students 

has continued to 
decrease in use  from 
2009 (12%) to 2011 

(11%) to 2013 (8.9%).

Inhalants starve the 
body of oxygen and 
force the heart to 

beat irregularly and 
more rapidly.  

Users of inhalants 
can experience 

nausea and 
nosebleeds; develop 

liver, lung, and 
kidney problems; and 

lose their sense of 
hearing or smell.

Inhalants can cause 
irreversible physical 
and mental damage.

Inhalants



Use of amphetamines among high school students decreased from 10% 
in 2001 to 4% in 2011. Reported use of Methamphetamines, in 2013, 

was 3.2%  down from 3.8 % in 2011. There was no admitted use among 
Georgia teens in 2013 compared to there being admitted use among 6.0 

% of teens in 2011.

Amphetamines increase the body’s regulatory functions, including 
heart rate, breathing, and blood pressure.  

Users experience dry mouth, increased sweating, dilated pupils, 
headaches, disorientation, severe depression, paranoia, fatigue, and 

hallucinations. 

Amphetamines



Rates of nonmedical use of prescription 
and over-the-counter (OTC) drugs remain 

high.

In 2013, 17.8% of high school students 
reported taking a prescription drug (i.e. 
Oxycontin,  Percocet, Vicodin, Adderall, 

Ritalin, or Xanax) without a doctor’s 
prescription compared to 21% 2011.

Prescription medications most commonly 
abused by youth include pain relievers, 

tranquilizers, stimulants, and depressants. 

Misuse of prescription and OTC 
medications can cause serious health 

effects, addiction, and death.

Prescription and Over-the-Counter Drugs



Georgia has enacted strict 
new laws targeting the 
sale and possession of 
designer and synthetic 

drugs.

Designer and synthetic 
drugs have the same 

physiological effects on 
the body as other 

controlled substances.  

House Bills 199 and 1309 
(2010) outlawed the sale 
and possession of “bath 

salts” and K2, also known 
as “synthetic marijuana,” 
and marketed as incense.

Senate Bill 370 (2012) 
banned all forms of 

synthetic marijuana in the 
State of Georgia.

Designer and Synthetic Drugs



First Suspension Your driver’s license or driving privileges 
will be suspended for a minimum period of 
6 months.  You will not be eligible for any 
type of limited driving permit.

Second Suspension Your driver’s license or driving privileges 
will be suspended for a minimum period of 
3 years.  You will be eligible to apply for 
reinstatement of your driver’s license with 
proof of completion of a DUI Alcohol or 
Drug Use Risk Reduction Program after 1 
year from the conviction date.

Drugs and Driving Privileges

In Georgia, the driver's license of any person convicted of violating the Georgia 
Controlled Substances Act shall be suspended by operation of law. 



Chapter 4 
Summary 

and 
Discussion



Chapter 1:  TADRA

• TADRA is an acronym for Georgia’s Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act.  

• According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), motor vehicle 
crashes are the leading cause of death for U.S. teens, accounting for more than 
one in three deaths in this age group.  

• Since January 1, 2007, pursuant to Senate Bill 226 (“Joshua’s Law”), in order to 
obtain a Provisional License (Class D) at 16 years of age, proof is required of having 
completed an approved driver training course consisting of at least 30 hours of 
theoretical instruction (classroom or virtual) and 6 hours of practical behind-the-
wheel instruction (instructor or parent taught). 

• The term “immediate family member” shall include, “the license holder's parents 
and step-parents, grandparents, siblings and step-siblings, children, and any other 
person who resides at the license holder's residence.”



Chapter 2:  Traffic Laws and 
Safe Driving

1. The fatal crash rate of teenage 
drivers 16-19 years of age is about 4 
times as high at night.

2. Two or more peer passengers more 
than triple the risk of a fatal crash 
with a teen behind the wheel.  

Chapter 3:  Alcohol and Drug 
Awareness

1. Alcohol is used by young people in the 
United States more than tobacco or 
illicit drugs.

2. The minimum legal drinking age in 
Georgia is 21.

3. In Georgia, pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-
5-75, the driver's license of any person 
convicted of violating the Georgia 
Controlled Substances Act shall be 

suspended by operation of law.





Additional Resources

Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS)
http://www.gahighwaysafety.org/

Department of  Driver Services (DDS)
http://www.dds.ga.gov

Georgia Department of Education
http://www.doe.k12.ga.us/

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
http://www.nhtsa.gov/

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
http://www.cdc.gov/

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
http://www.iihs.org/

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
http://www.nida.nih.gov/nidahome.html

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
http://www.samhsa.gov/

http://www.gahighwaysafety.org/

