

The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) is excited to announce its newest customer service initiative. Beginning April 1, 2010, Georgia teens that are not able to complete the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) through their high school will have the option of completing the program online, 24/7/365, from any computer that is connected to the world wide web! This is especially great news for Georgia teens that are home-schooled or were absent from school when the traditional ADAP course was offered.

By law, Georgia teens under the age of 18 are required to successfully complete ADAP in order to obtain their Class D Georgia driver's license. In most cases, teens are able to complete ADAP through their high school. In some instances, however, teens may not be able to complete ADAP through their high school. This is especially true of teens that are home-schooled, have moved to Georgia from another state, or were absent from school when the classroom course was offered. In the past, these teens have relied exclusively on "make up" classes taught by instructors certified by the DDS at various locations around the state. Beginning April 1, 2010, teens that are not able to complete ADAP through their high school will have <u>two</u> options, both of which are free of charge:

- 1. Teens may choose to complete a "make-up" ADAP class taught by a DDS certified instructor at several locations around the state. Locations, dates, and times of "make-up" ADAP classes can be found at the following website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/ADAP/ADAP\_Schedule.aspx
- 2. Teens may choose to complete the eADAP course online.

## HOW DOES THE eADAP PROGRAM WORK?

- 1. <u>Get Registered!</u>
  - Teens that attend a school which does not offer the traditional ADAP course, were absent when the course was taught, are home-schooled, or have graduated will need to register for the eADAP course directly through the Department of Driver Services.

**<u>Click Here for the eADAP Student Enrollment Form</u>** 

• Teens that attend a public or private high school will need to register for the eADAP course through their school's eADAP administrator.

For teens that register directly through DDS, please allow 5 business days for us to process your enrollment form, verify your information, and enter you into the program.

- 2. <u>Because eADAP is an internet-based course, teens must have access to a computer that is connected to the internet.</u> Although not required, the DDS highly recommends using a computer with high-speed internet access, such as DSL. Most public libraries and school computer labs have computers with high-speed internet access. Dial-up users will experience slower downloads and media streams.
- 3. <u>Teens that wish to take the eADAP course must have email.</u> Usernames and passwords will be emailed to teens. If you do not have email, there are several search engines that offer free email service, including Google, Yahoo, and MSN.
- 4. <u>Once a teen receives their eADAP username and password, they will have 30</u> <u>days to successfully complete the eADAP course.</u> If a teen fails to successfully complete the eADAP course in 30 days, their username and password will expire, at which time they will be required to register for the course again through their school or DDS eADAP administrator.
- 5. <u>The eADAP course will take approximately 4 hours to complete.</u> The eADAP course consists of a Pretest, four Modules, a video, and a Final Exam, which teens must pass with a score of 70% or better. Although a teen is not required to complete the entire course in one sitting, once they start a Module, they must fully complete that Module and the Module quiz before logging out or they will be required to start the Module over again the next time they log in.
- 6. <u>Teens will have 3 attempts to successfully pass the eADAP course.</u> If they do not successfully complete the eADAP course in 3 attempts, their username and password will be deactivated, at which time they will be required to register for the course again through their school or DDS eADAP administrator.
- 7. <u>Teens will be able to print their certificate of completion immediately after</u> <u>successfully completing of the course.</u> Teens will also have the ability to print replacement certificates later by visiting the DDS website.
- 8. <u>Teens must bring a printed copy of their certificate of completion with them</u> to the DDS Customer Service Center when they apply for their Georgia <u>driver's license.</u> DDS Examiners cannot access your personal email account to print certificates.

If you have any questions, or experience any problems, please feel free to email us at <u>eADAPSupport@dds.ga.gov</u>.