
 
 
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) is excited to announce its newest 
customer service initiative.  Beginning April 1, 2010, Georgia teens that are not able to 
complete the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) through their high school 
will have the option of completing the program online, 24/7/365, from any computer 
that is connected to the world wide web!  This is especially great news for Georgia 
teens that are home-schooled or were absent from school when the traditional ADAP 
course was offered. 
 
By law, Georgia teens under the age of 18 are required to successfully complete 
ADAP in order to obtain their Class D Georgia driver’s license.  In most cases, teens 
are able to complete ADAP through their high school.  In some instances, however, 
teens may not be able to complete ADAP through their high school.  This is 
especially true of teens that are home-schooled, have moved to Georgia from 
another state, or were absent from school when the classroom course was offered.  
In the past, these teens have relied exclusively on “make up” classes taught by 
instructors certified by the DDS at various locations around the state.  Beginning 
April 1, 2010, teens that are not able to complete ADAP through their high school 
will have two options, both of which are free of charge: 
 
1. Teens may choose to complete a “make-up” ADAP class taught by a DDS 

certified instructor at several locations around the state.  Locations, dates, 
and times of “make-up” ADAP classes can be found at the following website:  
http://www.dds.ga.gov/ADAP/ADAP_Schedule.aspx 

 
2. Teens may choose to complete the eADAP course online. 

 
HOW DOES THE eADAP PROGRAM WORK? 

 
1. Get Registered! 
 

 Teens that attend a school which does not offer the traditional ADAP 
course, were absent when the course was taught, are home-schooled, 
or have graduated will need to register for the eADAP course directly 
through the Department of Driver Services. 

 
Click Here for the eADAP Student Enrollment Form 

 
 Teens that attend a public or private high school will need to register 

for the eADAP course through their school’s eADAP administrator. 
 
For teens that register directly through DDS, please allow 5 business days for us to 
process your enrollment form, verify your information, and enter you into the program. 
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2. Because eADAP is an internet-based course, teens must have access to a 

computer that is connected to the internet.  Although not required, the DDS 
highly recommends using a computer with high-speed internet access, such 
as DSL.  Most public libraries and school computer labs have computers 
with high-speed internet access.  Dial-up users will experience slower 
downloads and media streams. 

 
3. Teens that wish to take the eADAP course must have email.  Usernames and 

passwords will be emailed to teens.  If you do not have email, there are 
several search engines that offer free email service, including Google, Yahoo, 
and MSN.   

  
4. Once a teen receives their eADAP username and password, they will have 30 

days to successfully complete the eADAP course.  If a teen fails to 
successfully complete the eADAP course in 30 days, their username and 
password will expire, at which time they will be required to register for the 
course again through their school or DDS eADAP administrator. 

 
5. The eADAP course will take approximately 4 hours to complete.  The 

eADAP course consists of a Pretest, four Modules, a video, and a Final Exam, 
which teens must pass with a score of 70% or better.  Although a teen is not 
required to complete the entire course in one sitting, once they start a 
Module, they must fully complete that Module and the Module quiz before 
logging out or they will be required to start the Module over again the next 
time they log in. 

 
6. Teens will have 3 attempts to successfully pass the eADAP course.  If they do 

not successfully complete the eADAP course in 3 attempts, their username 
and password will be deactivated, at which time they will be required to 
register for the course again through their school or DDS eADAP 
administrator. 

 
7. Teens will be able to print their certificate of completion immediately after 

successfully completing of the course.  Teens will also have the ability to print 
replacement certificates later by visiting the DDS website. 

 
8. Teens must bring a printed copy of their certificate of completion with them 

to the DDS Customer Service Center when they apply for their Georgia 
driver’s license.  DDS Examiners cannot access your personal email account 
to print certificates. 

 
If you have any questions, or experience any problems, please feel free to email us at 
eADAPSupport@dds.ga.gov. 
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